Dear Mayor Larry Langford…

And The Langford said, \

16 May, 2008

C/O City Hall, Birmingham, AL

Dear Larry,

  I am in receipt of your postcard of 25 April, 2008.  I would apologize for taking so long to get to it, but really, I don’t know what you expect me to do.  I’m on vacation.  Let’s be honest here for a moment, though.  You knew I was on the French Riviera and you sent that note either to annoy Me or to do some old-fashioned political pandering.

  If it was the former; I’ve had enough.  “Gawd, please give me a pony,”, “Gawd, please make Daddy love me,”, “Gawd, please make me remember what shoe goes on what foot,”; and that’s just from the White House.  Me-Dammit!  leave Me out of your Me-Damned politics!

  If it was the latter… the same applies!  You know, I once heard somebody say, (I can’t recall whom at the moment; but I think, beyond a bit of a Me complex, they generally made sense),

“And when you pray, you must not be like the hypocrites. For they love to stand and pray in the synagogues and at the street corners, that they may be seen by others. Truly, I say to you, they have received their reward.”

   So, just to be clear – I’m on vacation and if you don’t quit bothering me I’ll really give you something to wear sackcloth & ashes about.  I reccomend you try a bit of vacation, yourself.

Glad You’re Not Here,

~Gawd

One response to “Dear Mayor Larry Langford…

  1. Pingback: Dear Ex-Mayor Larry Langford… « “Gone Fishin’: Postcards From God”

Leave a Reply

